spring anime season : start!

April 15, 2008 at 7:43 pm (anime, ramblings) (, , , , , , , , , , )

Now that another weekend is over and gone, it’s back to my lonely boring days at home in front of the computer. Singapore Pools hasn’t called me up ever since my training so I’ve decided to take the wait-and-see approach and be unemployed for the time being, at least until school starts next month.

Meanwhile, this break gives me a chance to just seat back and catch up on the latest season of anime which just started airing in Japan a week or so ago. I’m currently following up on a whole lot of brand new titles which I’ve not heard of for curiosity’s sake, but the most worth mentioning would be the two blockbusters which I’ve brought up before at the beginning of the year :

Macross Frontier

Macross Frontier

The latest iteration of the Macross franchise simply puts the recently concluded Gundam 00 to shame. Having top-class CG animation in addition to an excellent soundtrack done by the famous Yoko Kanno does not hurt either. I can’t say much about the plot with only 2 episodes aired so far, but the action seems to be coming along quite steadily with plenty of mecha action to boot.

Overall, it definitely meets my already high expectations set by the preview episode screened at the end of last year – the amount of quality it oozes in its production just sets it worlds apart from any of the other new series, with most likely the exception of..

Code Geass R2

Code Geass R2

It’s finally here!!!!!!!

Judging from my previous post, to say that I had high hopes for the second installment of Geass would be a gross understatement and I’m sure many other fans would feel the same way too. That said, I honestly felt a bit of a letdown when the credits of the first episode begin to roll last week.

The first season’s cliffhanger was left virtually unresolved and the plot played out like a rehash of the very first episode. It came across to me as slightly.. anti-climatic, especially so after impatiently waiting to see what happened to Lelouch and Suzaku’s epic showdown.

Episode 2 changed all of that however.

The gap was bridged. New mecha were rolled out. New factions & conspiracies abound. And last but not least, new Geass users! (I don’t think I spoiled anything did I? I tried my best ^^;) The action seems to be flying in thick and fast as if it was trying to make up for last week’s relatively laid-back attitude, while more questions are being fired about the plot than being answered at the moment. All these just leave viewers like myself craving for much much more XD

I think Mondays just can’t seem to come soon enough from now on ^^;

Leave a Reply

