coming of age

April 23, 2008 at 10:17 pm (ramblings) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

One of the perks of bumming around would be the chance to get some exercise in the evenings.

Ok, so I’m kidding. But then again, coming back all tired from work does put the pain back in a pain-in-the-ass when deciding whether to go for a evening jog or not. Having come back from one such jog today, I stumbled upon a simple realization – I’m growing old.

No, not old as in old and frail-looking, but old as in older. Yeah I know I sound like an idiot for stating the obvious, but these things suddenly hit you when the pain that was never in your knee starts bugging you all of a sudden.

Well, not all of my body’s wear and tear can be attributed to aging of course, with many young males in Singapore feeling the effects of the 2 years of National Service way after their ORDs. But one thing led to another, and I’m left thinking about growing up and more specifically, about turning 21 years of age.

Having been to a couple of birthday parties of my ex-classmates since the start of the year, I’ve come to view these elaborate coming-of-age events with a bit of cynicism – and an emptier wallet to boot. Yeah sure, 21 is a symbolic age to be, now that you are a young adult and all, so I guess getting a more extravagant present should be pretty much expected. But thats not what I’m griping about. I’m thinking, and probably a few other like-minded 20-year-old souls turning 21 are too, what for?

Ok, you get to vote in elections and watch R21 movies from now on, and that’s it? To me, this year’s birthday is just another birthday which is just a tad more special than the rest due to its numerical significance in society. Sure, I don’t mind getting bigger and better presents as well as my friends to celebrate with me when the time comes, but I think that’s more than enough.

From what I’ve heard, some of the my friends invite people from all their social circles even though they might not intersect at all, leading to some awkward standing-around-with-nothing-to-do moments. Yeah, you might get the feeling that it’s one heck of a party attendance, but what’s the point of having close to 50 people crowding around when they just show up, deposit their presents, wait for the cake-cutting and leave after that.

I admit that inner cynic’s view is quite tangential indeed since it stems mostly from my own experiences, but what I really want is a small group of close friends celebrating the day with me in a nice and quiet sort of way, that’s all. Maybe it’s just my personality or personal preference, but somehow I think I’m not the only one who feels this way.

On another note, Via’s birthday is coming up in June and she plans to host something at my house. Not that I mind but seriously, thinking of a good present is a chore. Should I get her a watch? A bag? Or a DS lite? I seriously don’t know and the possibilities are endless. Anyway, I still have 2 more months to cook something up that hopefully doesn’t disappoint her ^^;

Leave a Reply

